Once was a comedian

April 23, 2011 at 6:22 am 4 comments

Next to “Man, interrupted”, this has proved the most painful post I have to make. Not because the subject is new or unexpected to me. But as I feel, by making this post, i’m contributing to the pains and betrayal of/to a man who had had more than his fair share of both. I’m talking about Artist/Comedian Lemenih / Limenih / Limeneh Tadesse; a childhood hero of mine. And a relative by blood. If you are wondering “why” i’m making this post, therefore, if it pained me so, rest assured I haven’t figured that out yet.

Am I copy/pasting these most unflattering images of his because I am burdened by the journalist’s duty that my readers have the right to “the truth”?! Or am i doing it because I need [to keep] my readers interested.. like a clown at a children’s beach party where everybody is dozzing off.. now that I’m trying to “retrace my steps” to what has always made me a happy/fulfilled woman — writing/being read/connected/understood, cost what it might?!

I’m also not sure how the rest of the family in general [included in this category are the good men and women of Washington DC, who have been helping and taking care of Lemenih physically, emotionally, and financially for an entire decade], and his children in paritcular, would react to this article were they to come across it. Or if they would ever forgive me! However, I hope the judgement won’t be too harsh upon me as it might do him more good than harm. It’s also a sort of “thank you” note, a respectful nod of the head, to those of you who have been there for him when the rest of us couldn’t. May you be there for all those who need a helping hand. And may there not be many.

Eshee…

According to “ቁም ነገር መጽሔት” ቅጽ 10 ቁጥር 110 መጋቢት ሚያዝያ 2003 እትም (For better viewing, double click on image. To return to post, press the back-button) :-

Entry filed under: Latest Posts.

Year II: Part deux Year III: Of loss and Pain

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sol_los  |  April 23, 2011 at 4:40 pm

    Hey, the third page is missing. Otherwise Really detailed article.

  • 2. dinku_abesha  |  April 30, 2011 at 5:27 am

    it really is sad to see him like this. I had the pleasure of meeting him in DC ,summer of 1996. He was staying with a relative of mine and he was doing ok … Thanks for the update abesheet … nice article

  • 3. samuel  |  July 18, 2011 at 9:07 am

    i dont like the title “once there was a comedian” it is an expresion of futher less character like a fare talle but this man thinks even if is dont have the plan to make new comedy he may do that so why put his in acoffine!?

  • 4. lisan  |  September 1, 2011 at 2:23 pm

    Greetings Abesheet, this was great to read. Much kudos to Ato Tekle Berhan for what he is doing. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Warning!

The blogger tries to think outside the box, or wonder why she sometimes can't.

Recent Posts

Previous Posts

Flickr Ethiopia

ሙዚቃ [Ethiopian Music]

Some classic Some modernish And some Yirdaw... When I need a ringtone When I feel nostalgic When I need poetry

Member of The Internet Defense League


