My issue – with American parents

May 20, 2013 at 4:11 am 1 comment

Spring is here. As is Prom season [two seasons that mean nothing to one from the part of the world you and I are]. The days would be longer. The weather more unpredictable – as opposed to it’s cold and windy predictable-self. And you’d be seeing more of two kinds of customers at your local thrift store. The first are environmentally responsible female-heads of houses parking their eco-friendly vehicles by the drop-off section of either Goodwill or Salvation Army to dump the fruits of their spring-clearing for which they may or may not seek tax-credits. The second are a gang of teenage-girls, to whom neither the outside world nor the other customers exist, screaming the roof down in their quest for cheap formal dresses that could both transform them into beautiful swans and don’t cost an arm and a leg.

That, atleast, is my impression from the various movies I watched on proms. Proms are times in which boy buys a suit, girl buys a dress and says “I will” [go to the prom with him, hold hands all night and dance]. I said, “I will”, mind you. Not “I do”. They don’t say I do even when slight variations to the program occur: girl gets handed down a crown iYaya wore on her prom, or wedding, before the Germans [or the Turks, or whoever had it for that part of the world; somebody always seems to] invaded the part of Eastern Europe young beautiful iYaya lived with her soon-to-be-extinct family; when the brother, or ex-teacher, of one of the groupies goes around dropping bodies like flies or when Bart ends up getting a room! However, the world [seems to] have come a long way from those more innocent days in which proms are about a boy holding his arm out for a girl whose hair he used to pull in 3rd grade; and her taking it – flushed in her night-gown and looking breath-taking in the pink-youthfulness of inexperience.

Proms are a much bigger deal, not so innocent – or affordable for that matter, nowadays. Here is an International Business Times piece on Promposing, as well as a CNN article on The damaging messages of proms. Remember [!!] [and never forget!!] all this expense is incurred to make the next kid feel bad. And that it’s coming out of mom and dad’s pockets [the same Mom and Dad who, at worst, finance music videos for the kinds of Rebecca Black; and, at best, post pictures of their kids on facebook asking for 1,000 likes so those children can have a life-threatening bit surgically removed from their bodies]. And that, mon ami-es, is really what I hold against American parents: That here I am/was/will be, working my tail off – rising early in the morning and staying late at night; in my attempt to make ends meet, walking home carrying grocery bags full to the brim; while their [unemployed] kids drive by in flashy cars, wearing labels I get to only scan through [before being chased out of the store by the price tag] on Black Friday. And tapping at gadgets that make my 5 year old Toshiba Satellite laptop look like it belonged to someone in the Flinstones’ family. [Speaking of families, I wonder if a person is allowed to put herself up for an adoption; and what the age limit is].

944146_610013519024027_1585787573_n

Entry filed under: Latest Posts.

An odd combination of names I go to Heaven, when I come to u

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Chuchu  |  May 24, 2013 at 2:08 pm

    I don’t know about proms, but the last time I was in Addis it was academy awards season and the who is who of Addis were doing their version of the red carpet at Sheraton Hotel. I guess. going to Hilton or Sheraton to watch Hollywood do its thing on the screen
    needs to dress up like hollywood. I thought it was embarassing. But times are changing. There isn’t much we can do about it.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Warning!

The blogger tries to think outside the box, or wonder why she sometimes can't.

Recent Posts

Previous Posts

Flickr Ethiopia

ሙዚቃ [Ethiopian Music]

Some classic Some modernish And some Yirdaw... When I need a ringtone When I feel nostalgic When I need poetry

Have your say

DaNegus on A work of fiction
A_Nutter on A work of fiction
Dianoprincess on A work of fiction
Scooby on A work of fiction
Chuchu on Seattle smells of ‘አሪቲ…

Member of The Internet Defense League


