Before the end of civilization as we know it…

August 6, 2016 at 1:49 am 7 comments

I thought I might take a cue from my various Facebook followers [who made me hate the idea of Facebook and following; did I already say “አበሻን ‘አድ’ ማድረግ ድንቁርናን ማስፋፋት ነው”?!] and share with you – my [hopefully] more sensible readers – stuff I have been reading, watching and listening to. [And no, Layla, you don’t need to comment on this one sweetness :)].

  • is “A conversation about life’s unseen patterns” Podcast hosted by Shankar Vedantam, who is NPR’s social science correspondent and my favorite East-Indian of all times. Unless Anil Kapoor is still alive, in which case Vedantam would have to step off to 2nd place. [Here below are two of his pieces that I found especially interesting; being a woman in a winning-men’s world afraid to try new things because she is fucking scared of failing – in full-view of her own damn self!: How Does Gender Affect One’s Willingness To Compete? and Women Held To Higher Ethical Standard Than Men, Study Shows]

Enjoy, y’all.

Entry filed under: Latest Posts.

The problem with Kenenisa የኛ ሴት በአሜሪካ

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. andthree  |  August 10, 2016 at 5:40 pm

    Whoa, whoa, abesheet! Don’t you think you’re painting with a broad brush? Re: አበሻ

    I hereby submit “painting with a broad brush” for inclusion into the list you posted a while back 🙂

    ሙሉ ፊልም የማየት ሞራል ጠፋ ባክሽ 😦

    “I Love You, But Our Happiness Doesn’t Fit My Personal Brand’s Narrative Strategy” 😀 Thanks; Timothy McSweeney’s Internet Tendency promises a lot of fun reading.

    I think I do know a little bit about the fear of failure, although I don’t claim to fathom the full extent of yours. And I can’t dare say I empathize with you: I have always tended to view women as “the oppressor”, given how hapless I have been with them ለህትመት እስከገባንበት ጊዜ ድረስ 😀

    But need I remind you (and myself) that regret over things that should have been said and done could be as a bitch of a feeling as the fear of failure? That fiercest of critiques, the self, never stops.
    So, get out there and make it do what it do; adversities and competition be damned. ተናግሬያለሁ

  • 2. Laila  |  August 19, 2016 at 10:25 am

    Abesheetyee zefen ligabzeshe. It is friday today.:).https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=und1rETET-8. I will miss you a lot.

  • 3. abesheet  |  August 19, 2016 at 4:35 pm

    True, andthree. But you gotta admit there is so much more fun to be had by painting with a broad brush than when trying (in the words of whatwashisname the tomato soup-can guy) “to paint a 767 with a tooth-brush”. Political correctness could be such a drag sometimes; especially when stereo-typing works to your advantage [*shakes her fist at them damned East-Indian men and their bloody backpacks*]

    Will remember your “mikir” the day I decided to shake off the fear, girt my loins with courage, and wear the breastplate of the [very un-Ethiopian un-generational] “can-do” attitude.

    Laila: Thank you for the “mircha” but I was forced to watch this – and other songs like it – while visiting my cousin’s for a UW graduation a month or two ago. I thought the kid was cute. But did the most “old school” 40+[1] thing and decided I liked the original one – with manew simu – the guy with ‘lemt’ – better.

    Melkam yesamint mecheresha children. You be good now ;).

  • 4. Laila  |  August 20, 2016 at 10:42 am

    Shush now abesheet. 🙂 ha ha ha. I rather wash my feet and get a mat. 🙂 love u. ha ha

  • 5. andthree  |  August 21, 2016 at 6:08 pm

    አንድ ቃሚ ጓደኛችን የነገረንን ቀልድ አስታወሽኝ: መቃም የረሱ/የተዉ ሰዎችን ዱካክ እንደቅጣት በጥርስ ብሩሽ ስቴዲየም ያስጠርጋቸዋል::

  • 6. Laila  |  August 25, 2016 at 1:05 pm

    Here is a pitch for short story Abesheet. ha ha ha ……….The story goes ……this is where my mother dies….http://dolny-slask.org.pl/foto/3528/3528547.jpg. The good thing is that the church is hers with the flag. Not really funny but as the Shakspear studies go tragedy, drama, ……….

  • 7. abesheet  |  August 26, 2016 at 3:25 pm

    Thank you, sweetheart, for sharing that. If ever you want to talk, you know where to find me (at abesheet@yahoo.com).

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Warning!

The blogger tries to think outside the box, or wonder why she sometimes can't.

Recent Posts

Previous Posts

Flickr Ethiopia

inter case silt . Ethiopia

transport  moto. Gondar Ethiopia

case alaba . Ethiopia

More Photos

ሙዚቃ [Ethiopian Music]

Some classic Some modernish And some Yirdaw... When I need a ringtone When I feel nostalgic When I need poetry

Member of The Internet Defense League


