To my favorite clown

September 23, 2008 at 2:12 pm 3 comments

I’ve liked Heath Ledger ever since I saw him on Hollywood’s version of “The Taming of the Shrew” —“10 things I hate about you”. I like his uncomplicated look. Which I found I was comfortable with, unlike actors like Daniel Craig whose intense blue [green or hazel] eyes makes me wanna reach for a glass of water. Or Christian Bell, another favorite actor of mine in the movie, who always impresses me as caught before clearing his throat every time he opened his mouth.

So hearing his death has affected me. As much as the death of an actor who lives a galaxy away can affect a girl. But no where near watching “The Dark Knight” last night (been a slow winter for Briuk Video) did. I don’t know if that is because I watched the movie with a certain tension, due to one of the leading actors dying. Or because of all the publicity and box office success it’s been enjoying, because of one of the leading actors dying. But if you gotta go, I think that’s the best way to go. With the movie in which you gave your best – and haunting – performance (I doubt I’ve seen anything more beautiful, more demented and more funny than that scene of his walking out of the hospital dressed as a female nurse) not yet premiered. Talk about kicking the ball right out of court!

So.. I raise my e-glass to my favorite clown of all times, Heath Andrew Ledger (4 April 1979 – 22 January 2008). May He who give rest to souls give one to yours.

Entry filed under: Latest Posts.

Cry, if it helps The lonliest hunters

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mazzi  |  September 24, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    Heath Ledger sure was a very talented and amazing actor. I loved how you thought he had “uncomplicated looks.” I think I knew what you meant. It is sad that his young daughter will never get to know him as the man he was though she will get to appreciate him from his great movies. May he rest in peace.

  • 2. abesheet  |  September 25, 2008 at 6:29 am

    Amen to that, Mazzi. I’ve often times thought about His daughter whenever i thought of Heath. Rumor has it, he never goes anywhere without her. Anywho.. i hope she finds a father figure that could help heal the scar for she is bound to be scared for life. He died after making that movie! That movie! Nothing like Casanova or Monster’s Ball. It’s haunting. For a daughter looking for bits and pieces of her father to put him back together, the way he is, it’s bound to be tough. So I doubt the “Why so serious!” part (which i loved so much that I rewound it like four times to heart it over and over), is going to make her want to smile. Still, I’m crossing my fingers that they give him an Oscar. So atleast she knows he hasn’t died unappreciated.

  • 3. Mazzi  |  September 26, 2008 at 12:06 am

    Heath Ledger’s daughter is definitely bound to be scared for life for having lost her father when she was just a baby. Don’t psychologists say that the opposite sex parent is the most influential parent in a child’s life? I too hope she will have many positive father figures in her life to help her navigate in her journey to girlhood/womanhood, and I hope she finds comfort in the knowledge that people loved and appreciated her father for his talent. When she is old enough to understand, it sure would be haunting to see him in his movies, and try to construct an image of the man who was her father. I wish her well.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Warning!

The blogger tries to think outside the box, or wonder why she sometimes can't.

Recent Posts

Previous Posts

Flickr Ethiopia

Silvery-cheeked Hornbill

Frame on the Omo River (Omo Valley, Ethiopia 2014)

Gelada Alpha Male (2)

More Photos

ሙዚቃ [Ethiopian Music]

Some classic And some lyrical ቅኔ from Yirdaw

Member of The Internet Defense League


